Sign In

Board of Directors

The LMS Board of Directors consists of fourteen to seventeen volunteer members who are elected for three-year terms by the members of the LMS Corporation. In addition, the Head of School and a LMS Parent Community co-chair are also voting Board members for the length of their respective tenures.
The LMS Corporation consists of all parents of children currently enrolled at the school. Each family is entitled to a single vote, regardless of how many children they have enrolled.
The primary responsibilities of the LMS Board include safeguarding the financial stability of the school, ensuring that policies and operations adhere to the mission of the school, and evaluating the performance of the Head of School. 
The bylaws of LMS determine the terms of office and basic qualifications for Board membership. The bylaws provide that fourteen to seventeen directors be elected by the Corporation on a staggered basis for three year terms. In addition, The Head of School serves ex-officio as a voting member and a Co-Chair of the Parent Community serves as a voting member. At least eight of the elected directors must be Corporation members.
The Board meets on the second Tuesday of each month during the school year in the evening.  Meetings are open to the LMS community. Agendas and official minutes are available in the Main Office.
LMS Board Committees
Executive Committee
The Executive Committee provides support to the Head of School and the Board President. It handles issues requiring immediate attention and confidentiality, helps set the agenda for Board meetings, and establishes concrete goals and objectives for the Board each year. This committee is only open to Board members.

Committee on Governance
The Committee on Governance is responsible for the recruiting and retention of the LMS Board and committee members. Its responsibilities also include Board member training, preparation of the Board Handbook and overseeing the process of Head evaluation and Board self-evaluation. This committee is only open to Board members.

Community Development Committee
The Community Development Committee leads the LMS annual fundraising effort in conjunction with the Community Development Office. It also provides support for the solicitation of gifts and supports the Parent Community in organizing LMS events.

Diversity Committee
The Diversity Committee supports the Administration's efforts to maintain and enhance diversity in the student body, Faculty, Staff and Board. It also works with the Committee on Governance to ensure that the Board reflects the school's diversity and provides opportunities to maintain and enhance their understanding of community and diversity issues.

Diversity Committee Working Groups:
LMS Outreach
Board and Parent Education
Attracting and retaining a diverse community

Finance Committee
The Finance Committee prepares the capital and operating budgets for the school. It also helps to track the budget during the year and oversees management of debts and investments.

Sustainability Committee
The Sustainability Committee is charged with enacting the recommendations of LMS' most recent Long Range Plan in regards to environmental and social sustainability.

Sustainability Working Groups:
Measuring LMS' carbon footprint
Viability of the Children's House building
Sourcing LMS' resources and purchases

2014 - 2015 LMS Board of Directors
Heather Allen 

Linda Banks-Santilli

Maria-Veronica Barnes

Carl Byers, Clerk

Emily Cooper, PA Representative

Aline Gery, Head of School

Deb Kreutzer, Vice President

Martin LaMonica

Maroli Licardie

Luz Stella Marin

Anne McClintock

Steve Opie

Valerie Overton

Rob Salafia

Tucker Taft, President

John Toomey, Treasurer